IPI - Intelligent Print Inspection

09.06.2020

IPI Intelligent Print Inspection Logo

Revolutionary IPI technology

IPI stands for Intelligent Print Inspection and enables a new way of performing print inspection. In general, the concept of ‘digital print image inspection’ refers to the comparison of a printed sample to a pre-defined template. The template and the sample are both images, or regions of images, that have been captured by the inspection system and are available within the system as digital data (“bitmaps”). Conceptually, print inspection can be understood as the subtraction of the sample from the template:

This means that if the sample image is 100% identical to the template image, the subtraction of the two images results in a “black” result image (no errors present). However, if the sample deviates from the template image, the resulting image shows a difference that correlates in position and extent to the printing error. This difference is analyzed by the inspection system and can trigger different actions: For example, alerting an operator, stopping the printer, or trigger a report to a database that this page contains an error and must be rejected during the finishing process.

Intelligent Print Inspection Subtraction template

New approach

In traditional print inspection, the operator creates the template for image matching (Golden Template). A number of features to be checked are selected on a printed page that has been found to be “good”.

IPI opens another way to create the template for image matching: Instead of having the template set by the operator, the IPI system uses the raw print data directly sent from the printer controller to the inkjet print heads. This means IPI dynamically reads this data and generates a digital image on-the-fly without affecting the printer. This dynamically generated image serves as a template for the system to compare with the print sample.

IPI - Intelligent Print Inspection Workflow

Innovative possibilities with Intelligent Print Inspection

This direct comparison of ‘what should have been printed’ to ‘what was actually printed’ without creating a golden template in advance enables completely new applications:
In transactional printing, errors in the printing of variable data can be In transactional printing, errors in the print of variable data can be detected without, for example, the address information being known in advance. Furthermore, it is possible to detect print errors in graphics and images in photo books, even if they occur only once in an entire print job.

Reduced Operator load

The demand on the operator is greatly reduced, since the necessary setup and make-ready of a golden template is no longer required. The Hunkeler Web Inspection WI8 system serves as the user interface of IPI. This means that standard functions of the WI8 can be combined with results from IPI. This is necessary for example, if in addition to the print inspection specific nozzle failures are to be detected. The IPI functionality requires a very high data throughput and places high demands on available PC hardware.  Therefore, the resolution for IPI is limited to 300dpi. Meanwhile, nozzle failures usually require double the resolution (600dpi) supported by the WI8 system. Both tasks can be carried out in parallel.

Application and availability of the IPI Intelligent Print Inspection

The Intelligent Print Inspection is an optional add-on to the Hunkeler Web Inspection System WI8.
IPI is currently available for the Canon ColorStream series of printers.
Connections for other printing systems are under development.

Links

Hunkeler Web Inspection

IPI – Intelligent Web Inspection Video

IPI - Intelligent Print Inspection

09.06.2020

Intelligent Print Inspection Logo

Revolutionäre IPI-Technologie

IPI steht für Intelligent Print Inspection und eröffnet einen neuen Weg die Druckbildkontrolle durchzuführen. Grundsätzlich ist mit ‘digitaler Druckbildkontrolle’ der Vergleich eines Druckmusters mit einer Vorlage gemeint. Dabei sind Vorlage und Muster beides Bilder oder auch Teilausschnitte von Bildern, die von dem Inspektionssystem aufgenommen wurden und in dem System als digitale Daten («Bitmaps») vorliegen. Konzeptionell kann eine Druckbildkontrolle als Subtraktion des Musters von der Vorlage gesehen werden:

Das heisst, wenn das Musterbild zu 100% dem Vorlagenbild entspricht, dann ergibt die Subtraktion der beiden Bilder ein «schwarzes» Ergebnis-Bild ( keine Fehler vorhanden) Weicht das Muster allerdings von der Vorlage ab, dann weist das Ergebnis-Bild eine Differenz auf, die in Position und Ausmass dem Druckfehler entspricht. Diese Differenz wird vom Inspektionssystem ausgewertet und kann verschiede Aktionen auslösen: Zum Beispiel einen Bediener alarmieren, den Drucker anhalten oder auch einer Datenbank melden, dass diese Druckseite einen Fehler beinhaltet und in der Weiterverarbeitung ausgeschleust werden muss.

Intelligent Print Inspection Template

Neuer Denkansatz umgesetzt

Bei der traditionellen Druckinspektion, wird die Vorlage für den Bildabgleich vom Bediener erstellt (Golden Template). Dabei werden auf einer für ‘gut’ befundenen Druckseite eine Reihe von zu kontrollierenden Features ausgewählt

IPI öffnet einen anderen Weg, die Vorlage für den Bildabgleich zu erzeugen: Anstatt die Vorlage vom Bediener festzulegen, verwendet das IPI-System die rohen Druckdaten, die direkt vom Drucker-Kontroller an die Inkjet-Druckknöpfe gesendet werden. Das heisst IPI liest diese Daten mit und generiert daraus ein digitales Bild ohne den Drucker zu beeinflussen. Dieses generierte Bild dient dem System als Vorlage zum Vergleich mit dem Druckmuster.

IPI - Intelligent Print Inspection Workflow

Innovative Möglichkeiten mit Intelligent Print inspection

Dieser direkte Vergleich von ‘was sollte gedruckt werden’ zu ‘was wurde tatsächlich gedruckt’ ohne im Voraus ein Golden Template zu erzeugen, ermöglicht ganz neue Anwendungen:
Es können im Transaktionsdruck Fehler im Druck von variablen Daten erkannt werden, ohne dass im Vorfeld beispielsweise die Adress-Information bekannt war.
Weiterhin ist es möglich zum Beispiel in  Fotobüchern Druckfehler in allen Graphiken und Fotos zu detektieren, selbst wenn sie in einem gesamten Druckjob nur einmal vorkommen.

Weniger Aufwand für Bedienpersonal

Das Bedienpersonal wird stark entlastet, da das notwendige Setup eines Golden Template entfällt. Als Benutzeroberfläche von IPI dient weiterhin das Hunkeler Web Inspection WI8-System. Daraus folgt, dass auch die Standard-Funktionen des WI8 mit Ergebnissen aus der IPI verbunden werden können. Dies ist zum Beispiel dann notwendig, wenn zusätzlich zur Druckbildkontrolle auch gezielt Düsenausfälle erkannt werden sollen. Die IPI-Funktionalität erfordert einen sehr hohen Datendurchsatz und stellt sehr grosse Anforderungen an die PC-Hardware.  Daher ist die Auflösung für IPI auf 300dpi begrenzt. Währenddessen für Düsenausfälle meist die doppelte Auflösung notwendig ist (600dpi), wie sie vom WI8-System unterstützt wird.

Anwendung und Verfügbarkeit von IPI – Intelligent Print Inspection

Das Intelligent Print Inspection ist eine Option des Hunkeler Web Inspection Systems WI8.
Die Funktion ist derzeit für die Canon ColorStream Druckerserie verfügbar.
Die Anbindungen für andere Drucksysteme sind derzeit in der Entwicklung.

Weiterführende Links

Hunkeler Web Inspection WI8

IPI Intelligent Print Inspection Video auf Youtube